Project 6 Notes

How does working with fabric in this way compare with working directly with stitch?

 I found this a wonderful section and spent more hours than I should have. Once again, just skimming the surface. I found the new products such as soluble film and tyvek etc an exciting development. There was more depth and texture possible in working this way. A missing element was colour in the course requirements…. I think that is why I took longer, in that mostly I wanted to work with colour, to use it and to take note of the effect of the manipulations on tones, shades etc. Also, I know I added more stitch into the samples that was needed for trialing methods, but the manipulated or appliqued pieces really need stitching to add further quality and interpretation.

 Are you pleased with the shapes and movements that you have created in both applique and fabric manipulation? What would you do differently?

 I feel a sense of achievement in the variety of explored methods and seeing the changes formed on a base cloth.   I have some favourites, some I do not like. I do find the precise, measured work of some folding and pleating, too reminiscent of standard quilting, and I am not drawn to them. However, the free movements from some of the new materials, the releasing of colour through slashing, are very exciting. My first applique of the sunflower is too flat. I would like to re-do, but with stiffened and manipulated petals to give a depth. I also learnt from my beads applique that working systematically from base to end piece is not the best way. If I had made the beads first, I would then have seen that the base colour was too soft in contrast. I would then have put the organza strips over the top. However that also would have meant that the end piece would have been very very different from my sketch. Which then goes on to the next question….

 How did the pieces work in relation to your drawings? Were the final results very different from the drawings? Did the fabric manipulation technique take over and dictate the final result?

There is a connection between the drawings and the pieces in terms of pattern and positioning. The colours change, because the materials have their own reaction to light and contrast. There is no doubt that the manipulation gives strength (power). Also I think that the working with the materials gives an extra understanding of shape, form and colour, and therefore the end result should be different to the sketch.

Was it helpful to work from the drawings in the appliqué exercise? Would you have preferred to play directly with cut shapes and materials?

 I worked in both ways in these applique, and both have advantages and disadvantages. A sketch helps with shape and colour planning, and I really found that valuable in my applique projects of formal applique and end piece. However, experiments create excitement and unplanned, fortuitous expression. Products such as Tyvek have creation embedded in them. And I LOVED making my own fabrics, which was from play.

How do you feel about working with stitch in general? Is it an area you would like to pursue in more depth? Do you find it limiting in any way?

 I feel on the cusp of discovering a new world of creating, but it is not one of pure stitch, or of pure manipulation. I think there must be a melding of the techniques to create something inspired and individual. I actually love stitching, but at this stage, I feel stitch should be an additional layer on top of manipulation, applique or fabrication.