As both Lutradur and Tyvek are new materials to me I thought it would be interesting to compare their reactions to heat and colour. So I cut a similar size piece from each material and painted them both with gouache paints. As can be seen from the photo, the Lutradur (on the left) absorbed the colour and formed a dark mat, slightly dispersed colour. The Tyvek did not absorb and the effect is clear, reflected and with a sheen.

IMG_2006

I attached the pieces to a piece of felt that was in a contrasting colour and was strong enough to resist the heat that was to follow.

 

IMG_2002

 

I applied heat via an iron to the products. The Tyvek reacted very swiftly and dispersed into a lacy plasticised tracery onto the felt. The same amount of heat had absolutely no effect on the Lutradur and in fact a prolonged application of the iron made no difference to the material.

 

IMG_2007

 

I resorted to the hot air gun and then to the soldering iron. The hot air gun, after a longish blow at the Lutradur hardened it and began to move its shape. It was only by using the soldering iron could I cut through and see a melting and diffusion of the shape.  A difficulty came in controlling the soldering iron, so some parts cut through the felt as well as the Lutradur.  In this experiment it looked very interesting however, and I liked it.  The Lutradur piece is strong and dynamic. The Tyvek is soft and delicate, but also distorts the base fabric.  Interesting!

 

 

IMG_2024