Angela Cooper

513423

http://www.voletslavandes.wordpress.com

Textiles 1 A Creative Approach

 

Assignment 2 Review

 

These three projects show an enormous learning curve for me. My reflections on each project all say that time was an issue. I think every activity was such a taster for a very big area, that it was a challenge in more than one way. Resourcing is the major constraint as there is no one place to shop locally, and stocks are very variable. Then each topic is so major that I didn’t want to stop anything as I knew I was just touching the surface.

 

My skills have really grown. It is interesting that Project 1 exercises are continually reflected in study. My drawing skills have improved, and my use of colour in sketching is better having looked at mixing, juxtapositioning of colours. I find I am developing a process now, which is a pen/pencil drawing, then inktense or water colour pencils, then gouache painting. I still do not like paper collages, but feel happier to mix with textiles and create textures this way. I need to add outside materials to my sketch pages to encourage this area.

 

I look for patterns and shapes differently. I can not look at an object without seeing the context and its impact on the locality. Shadow, shapes, colours all change by smallest of movements. I see this in my approach to sketching, and in the way I manipulated blocks for printing. Perhaps that is why I found I was a bit dissatisfied with stencils as they impose the colour and line onto the background, whereas many times, a print is more interlinked with the base.

 

I have read widely on colour, printing and fabric surfaces and enjoyed trying out many ideas. I want to use dyes and try rusting, soldering etc. I have found fabrics that respond well and others that are either too flimsy or too sturdy. I loved using the raw silk in Project 5. Simple cottons and white silks are carriers for designs, patterns and colours, whereas the more textured fabrics work in collaboration.

 

I have a sense of satisfaction on the extent of my learning curve in the large samples in Project 5. Although the outcome of the single image was not as strong and successful as I had hoped, I enjoyed planning and preparing, trying out a new technique with an unpredictable outcome. The sense of experiment and ‘what if’ is really strong.

 

My repeat pattern is an example that pulls together the work on colour, on pattern, on choice of fabrics, on printing and manipulating shape. I am pleased that I responded to my local environment, but put a personal interpretation onto it. Although seemingly simple, I followed the process encouraged with sketching, playing with shapes, lines, patterns, positive and negative spaces. I used the nature of the base fabric in the design. There is a lot of room for improvement, but it is still a big step for me.