I allowed myself to play with the images from the beads, and to see how I could develop and manipulate them. I still wanted to work out what actually caused the fascination.First of all, I took section from the photocopies, one in colour and one in black and white. I used mirror to work on reflections, using wax and gouache to do resist drawings. With the black and white I felt skeletons and bones, but the colour version was a diffusion of colour which gave some of the essence of the original beads.

IMG_1531                       IMG_1532

 

I decided to draw the beads again, obviously I am intrigued with them!  I used inktense pencils and worked closely on the colour matching, on a white background. I found the white disappeared, all I could see was movement of blues in the background. I found the tones on the bead surfaces moved light and dark too.

IMG_1533

 

After this study, I found I just went wild and could have carried on for a long time with ways of looking at shapes, lines, movements. I did not feel tempted to do any collage though!  First I looked at sequencing the pattern, and then I added in an additional line to give a soft lace effect:

 

These lines reminded me of the SAD markings from our initial exercises and I could see the lace lines trickling down a glass surface:

 

IMG_1535

 

Then I looked at mirror images and how a sequence could change:

IMG_1536

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I looked at the repetitions and sketched them in pen, and then coloured the background to allow a change in positive and negative spaces. I found rockpiles, and teeth:

IMG_1539

 

And then this led to further mirror sequencing and patten development, and looking at positive and negatives:

 

IMG_1534

IMG_1540

 

Eventually, I called time, and have left this study. But nevertheless I am amazed at how the simple string of beads can be studied and explored. I think this was actually a good consolidation.