IMG_1511

 

I wanted to work on some of the amazing resources in the handbook on Berber Women of Morocco that I had splurged out on after visiting the wonderful exhibition in the Bahrain Museum. When choosing though, I found the images of the jewellery too static to start me off, and I ended up choosing a simple photo of a rug. Again with this exercise I felt I was doing something I had taught in primary school, and consequently made my boxes and worked on the shapes then. ( I am adding this bit of comment in later, after finishing Project 4, –  I can say I really moved so far in my vision and perspective after this first attempt! on reflecting weeks later I started this with formula, I ended with a dynamic view.) 

I feel this was a mathematic exercise in tesselation, exploring shapes, because of the choice of article.  With the pale colours and dark lines, the lines are the important aspect and they bring in the negative space into the design. What is important is not the colour and texture, but the lines linked into space.

 

IMG_1510

 

Studying a string of beads.

When I saw a friend wearing this necklace I immediately though of the exercise, wondering how the beads would appear if viewed through a frame. I had such an impact on the eye when placed on different backgrounds and eventually settled on red as the most challenging and interesting for colour movements. I found the shadow and light, the impact on the colours is position, location were changed. It became a deeper exploration that just positive/negative space. The negative space becomes more important, more exciting, it highlights and give hint of the positive. I can see how the previous studies in colour have brought the background images dynamic. I like the fluidity of movement which is highlighted in each of the squares.

 

I used inktense pencils and water for these studies. The translucency in the colour brings intensity to the study. I am unhappy with the confinement I put myself under with the measured out boxes. It needs space, space for enquiry, to reflect the fluidity of the shapes. Restricting movement into tiny boxes. Ohhh frustrating and a learning point here for me.