IMG_1255

 

 

 

IMG_1260

 

 

 

IMG_1260

 

There is such a challenge being in Bahrain. Expect the unexpected.  Truely when driving to shops the image is dust, sand, light beige colours…. until we get into the city area, where the sights are urban, modern and high-rise, or warrens of dust, sand, light beige colours in dwellings and souks etc.

I walked my dog outside of our compound and on one side of the road there is an avenue of date palm trees in front, behind a road with sand/beige dust edges, and on the wall along the compound an absolute glory of colour, rich in greens, oranges, yellows. I am amazed at how the gardeners can develop such beauty. I had to take photos, and these have inspired the work on Stage 2 of the course. I know that sunflowers are almost a cliche for artists but in this environment, the shapes and lines, the colours and textures really stand out and demand to be acknowledged.