I find that the different exercises can be a little difficult to make sure that I am looking at the aspect intended in the course. By that, I mean that all of the studies become very fluid, and I have found that what I do with one particular intention, shows for another quality.  Thsi one I was looking at the light/dark, and I think, positive and negative images. I used pencil to draw what I had sketched in the first study, and really looking more at the different tones that were revealed. At first I found my sketch at bit disappointing and was not sure what progress my eye had taken:

IMG_1503

 

I know that I followed depth and lightness without too much real shape-copying, so there is some effect of depth. However, not too much.  But then,  I just played and moved it around, turned it upside down.  When I had it ‘upside-down’, there was no longer the copy effect, but I could see the strength and contrasts in tone, as identified with the different textures being revealed. Another Eureka for me. I think I got somewhere.

 

IMG_1503