colour study with embroidery pearl yarns
colour study with embroidery pearl yarns

I enjoyed this study and wanted to stretch it. This first piece used only embroidery threads which are readily available here in Bahrain. I wanted to look at tight textures , spots and lines, curves. I did this study while visiting the UK, in February. The weather was fairly sunny, and it was not really dull.  This is very relevant, because the judgements I made on the colours was completely different from when I looked at the same piece back in sunny, hot, sandy Bahrain. It was almost an epiphany, as in the UK the red seemed to disappear into the black, and only appear strong if it was in connection with the yellow.  The red specks were very muted.  The mixes of red and yellow created definite tones of orange, or just a deepening of the yellow.  In Bahrain however, the red was strong and challenged the yellow so that there is less blending to different tones. It makes me realise how the environment truely changes how we see things and  a colour study will be different not just from day/electric light etc but from dust or clouds in the sky, closeness to the Equator, nearness of vegetation from windows etc. Do I really see what I think I see?

I decided I didn’t want to leave it there, so I then continued on another piece of fabric to look at different yarn textures. I used 2 wools,  cord, metallised yarn to do a study on yellow, red and then red/yellow mixed. This was done just in Bahrain.

reds and yellows yarn variations
reds and yellows yarn variations

Firstly, I think the yellow is strongest on impact and the red seems dark and more hidden in the black.  When it is mixed with the yellow, the red acts as a compliment and adds a depth to the yellow, to my eye.  The different yarns reflect differently. In the red they add a sense of texture and density. In the yellow, one wool is more lemon yellow than the other which is ‘golder’, ie one is cool and the other warm.  The cool lemon yellow is almost untouched by the red,it stands strong, but the warmer yellow tone gains an added richness from the red, likewise the red appears stronger and hotter.

A very impacting study, with my views on colour very challenged and enlightened at the same time. I have less surety in one sense, but it also expands the potential impact of all colour mixing/juxtapostioning.