IMG_1090
acrylics with gouache background

 

photo of still life
photo of still life
gouache
gouache

My first attempt at this was the painting with acrylics. I chose to use acrylics as I wanted to have more control over the colours to be able to mix them more accurately, and I wanted the thick texture to really focus on those colours that I perceived.  It was hard.  I was cross with my perspective issues but that was really because I was just painting the colour blocks, not the object itself.i was fascinated that the gold box was only gold on top, and even then in the first painting, I could see green/grey stripes in it and the main colour was in blocks.  I could not mix the correct shades of blue in acrylics because of my limited range, and had to use gouache to reach it.  Then, with the gouache I found it easier to ‘fudge’ the colours and to mix on the paper rather than on the pallet, so I was disappointed with the change from blocks to diffusion.

The next day, in the morning light, I decided to re-do the exercise using gouache only, to see how that would change my vision and my colour control.  It was an interesting exercise.  It was much quicker, and again there is some exaggeration in what I saw, but different aspects are precise.  I really could see at least 3 shades on the inside of the gold box, none of which was the gold,.  The red box almost seemed orange on top, but it was tricky to match without being so strong.  I think the background was again easier to show shades and movement of colour by using gouache.

If I were to do a third, I would go back to the acrylics for a real study of the colour changes. Because I used little water, it was more definite in showing shade changes.

Learning points:

Acrylics focus the eye. The colours are not what my brain tells me and in fact a gold box is only with a yellow tone on the top where the sun hits it. Everywhere else is a reflection of adjacent colours. I did not use black at all in any mixing, as it took away the clarity in the colours. Dark blue was the most useful for darkening a tone. White brought the yellow tones out in the red pigments, except for in crimson.