Braids at Manama Souk
Braids at Manama Souk

In this section I have reviewed and taken stock of the explorations of stitch techniques, and the effect of different yarns in creating differing impacts.  i have collected colours together and found it an exciting ‘bag of tricks’, but I have changed them round as I have reconsidered their applications. Sometimes I have wanted to keep the types of yarns separate, so that I can pick up and trial different blends.  Fabrics I have kept in the colour bands. I have felt I did not have enough of a range of yarns and spent several hours in the souks trying to find sources.  Not so easy, although I had several fun trips out!  The fabrics again are an inspirational range of silks and patterns, however to find a strong fabric in a plain colour can be quite a challenge.  I was very excited to find a source of woven and stitched braids, that are used to decorate Bahraini and also Indian clothing.  They are amazing and show a range of embroidery techniques which I think I will want to draw and to interpret in my own way at some time.