I had a big block on this exercise, and looked at blank paper for about two weeks. I was scared of colour, after the work with pencil marks. I felt the colour would expose me. So it is interesting I plucked up courage first to try wax crayons, a child’s first tool!  By the end of this exercise however, the barriers were torn down and I spent hours and hours and hours on this and the following exercise 4. It is like an awakening and a real development. So excited.  I know that my skills are basic, but I have come on so far!  I had to make myself stop and move on to Stage 3!

Wax crayons.Horrible to use for colour filling but some elements of fragility and delicacy.

IMG_0861

colour pencils
colour pencils

Pastels These were interesting to use and I enjoyed the delicacy of tones that they gave when mixing colours for delicate marks. I also though they were interesting to hold and to be a bit bold with butI didn’t like having to use fixative. I can see how they will be useful however.IMG_0862IMG_0863IMG_0864IMG_0865

Watercolours. I tackled this as a complete novice, forgetting all I had learnt in the past and my initial reaction was not positive. I am not impressed with these effects here. but maybe I can work on it again.

IMG_0866

Oil Pastels seemed to break down a barrier for me. I could see the strength of line and mark, the potential for adding depth and enhancing the marks made in pencil. I loved the translucency, and found I wanted to try them on all sorts of textured materials to explore differences.  When to stop!?  Notes are next to some of them, but I found the hessian a very exciting base to use. I loved the smell…. then the texture and feel, and I found the way the pastels attached to the fibres very strong and vibrant. I wanted to carry on more….

IMG_0868IMG_0869IMG_0870

Gouche.  I found this paint much more effective for me than watercolours. I found the intensity of the colour more stimulating and it is becoming my go-to paint first. I like the depth, and the way it can be used in different mark making ways, on the variety of papers, textures. I will no doubt try it on lots of other textures in the future than those I have done now!

experimenting with gouache
experimenting with gouache
gouache on fibre, natural, stretched and post stretched paper, wet and dry
gouache on fibre, natural, stretched and post stretched paper, wet and dry
gouache using different brushes and strokes, stamping
gouache using different brushes and strokes, stamping
gouache on handmade paper, wet and dry, using pipette gouache with toothpick and pipette on shiny packaging card
gouache on handmade paper, wet and dry, using pipette
gouache with toothpick and pipette on shiny packaging card